This Is Not My Brooklyn

Not just Brooklyn but any place you call home.

Vanessa Martir's Blog

http://www.egotripland.com/brooklyn-wallpaper-beastie-boys-mike-d/ http://www.egotripland.com/brooklyn-wallpaper-beastie-boys-mike-d/

I say, “I’m from Brooklyn” like there’s a grenade exploding from my mouth.

I walk different after saying it. My step is a little harder, my shoulders more square, nose held higher in the air. It’s a momentary self-assuredness that follows me for a spell.

I feel it rise into my jaw when I see her approach across the water as I’m crossing the Williamsburg Bridge; when the train doors close on First Avenue and the L snakes under the East River.

The thing is, the Brooklyn I’m from isn’t the Brooklyn of today. It’s not that funky Brooklyn that I keep in my back pocket in case somebody tries it. (You don’t wanna mess with a girl from 1980s Bushwick.)

My Brooklyn is the Brooklyn of the Domino sugar factory and rubble and crack. Nostalgia can be a confusing thing. It isn’t always for the neat and pristine…

View original post 1,318 more words

Leave a Reply

